How I Spend My Summers…

For the past 5-6 years I have been spending my summers in Bulgaria. My dad is Bulgarian so we've got his whole side of the family here. The first time I came here I was either 8 or 9 years old and my brother was a baby. I actually learned Bulgarian in about a year through video calls with my granny. The first few years I visited, I only stayed for a couple of weeks maximum but then as I got older my stay extended and then three summers ago I actually started staying for two months at a time.


Plovdiv City Centre, Bulgaria

I didn't make many friends until I felt confident and comfortable with my Bulgarian. It can be quite a tongue twisting language. I met my best friend the summer of 2014 but before we could get overly close I had to leave for Scotland. The following year is when we really started sharing thoughts and ideas and have been inseparable ever since.

While in Bulgaria my daily routine usually consists of a run/workout early in the morning if motivation assists and if not, Stefany and I grab a coffee and breakfast and sit in the park. Then we usually go home around noon as that's when the shade of the leaves won't save us from the heat. Between 1-5pm I shower, read or take a nap. Once the sun isn't as strong we go out as a group, which used to consist of myself, Stef and three other girls but that number has dropped to just one. When we're out we either look for places to take photos, take photos or hang out with another group of people. Then I come home at around 9-10pm, catch up on social media and go out again. That's the time Stefany and I sit and talk about the Universe, our current affairs or anything that intrigues our brain. Sometimes we even meditate together but that's just when we're feeling extra weird.


Stefany showing me love and me being ungrateful for it x

I go on separate trips while in Bulgaria with my family, like this year we went to Sicily. In other words, I love summer until I'm about 3/4 of the way in and then I start getting homesick and end up wanting to go home. I do miss school because of it & have a lot to catch up on so it's not all perfect. Anyways, thank you for your precious time.

-Wiki Kowalczyk 🙂

Leave a Reply

